Mia

You, the outdoor fan who likes to get away with your lover, and chose to come in Shawinigan for a few days: GOOD PICK! Let me be your personal guide and suggest my favorites in order to make your stay memorable.

My personal favorites

The beautiful Mauricie region and more precisely, the city of Shawinigan, is about 1h45 drive from Montreal and Quebec. It’s therefore easy to leave on Friday after work and taste a good beer or a glass of wine for an aperitif only 2 hours later.

And the dream stay starts here…

taj mahal - Sandie
D1

Indian dinner at Taj Mahal

Enjoy the terrace

To get this romantic break off to a good start on a beautiful Friday evening, head to the heart of Shawinigan.I suggest you make yourself comfortable with a good bottle of wine of your choice (purchased beforehand at the SAQ) and relax on the terrace of the Taj Mahal. The menu of this restaurant is typically Indian and perfectly adapted to the sensitive palates of Quebecers. Offering dishes all in flavor, not too spicy and served with succulent condiments on the side for you to spice up your meal to your taste. I highly recommend the lamb Korma, in its creamy pistachio sauce that melts in your mouth, and the unmissable butter chicken.

D1

Promenade du Saint-Maurice

A romantic walk

After this good and copious meal, nothing’s better than taking a healthy walk, hand in hand, on the promenade du Saint-Maurice. It runs along the river of the same name and it’s easy to access to admire the sun slowly descending on the water and the Cité de l’énergie standing tall and proud. A setting often worthy of a postcard, especially when the summer sunset colors the sky with pink and orange!

TDD - Céline C
D1

Le Trou du Diable Microbrewery

To end the night properly

After this walk, if you feel like celebrating or if you’re still not sleepy, choose a table on the magnificent terrace of the renowned Broue-Pub le Trou du Diable, one of the jewels of the city. Let yourself be seduced by its festive atmosphere and discover new beers with a tasting tray (4 kinds of beer to choose from). You’ll receive expert advice from your server. Be creative and share your favorites with your better half on this beautiful late evening.

chutes waber parc national de la mauricie - Mia
D2

Waber Falls

Loving the outdoors!

The next morning, head to the chutes Waber in La Mauricie National Park for a 4-hour excursion combining canoeing (or kayaking, depending on your preference), hiking and a superb scenery. You may be lucky enough to come across a beaver dam during the adventure.

D2

Café bucolique

Country-style breakfast

Before getting to the Park, stop by the beautiful village of Sainte-Flore for a rustic breakfast or lunch at the Café Bucolique.

D2

St-Jean-des-Piles

The view of the river

For the road, I recommend going around the National Park rather than retracing your steps in order to better explore it. You’ll be able to stop at the various viewpoints in the park and admire the village of St-Jean-des-Piles that you’ll cross on the way back to Shawinigan. You’ll then have another magnificent view of the Saint-Maurice river.

D2

2800 du parc

Improvised picnic

It’s also an area offering several waterfront places to have a bite such as 2800 du Parc and the Marina of St-Jean-des-Piles.

D2

Want some gastronomy?

Restaurants ideas

If you want gastronomy, the restaurant Aux Goglus will charm you with its elaborate cuisine, the Olivia restaurant will also have something to satisfy your taste. To discover my favorite restaurant, Zélé, go back to Sainte-Flore.

D3

Tdd's shop

Brewery visit and boutique

To conclude this beautiful weekend, why not take the guided tour of the Trou du Diable Microbrewery in the morning and visit the boutique where you can buy beers, T-Shirts, sweaters, caps, posters and many more nice products from the region.

Parc des chutes - Francine
D3

Mountain bike

With the view on the falls during Spring

You can also stretch your legs on one of the free hiking/mountain biking trails at the parc de l’Île Melville, located only 3 minutes away from downtown area. This park also offers a rock wall, popular with climbing enthusiasts, and an aerial adventure rope circuit (Arbraska). During Spring, you must stop at the belvedere to contemplate the impressive Shawinigan Falls (the 2nd largest in Canada after Niagara Falls!). This is where you’ll have the chance to see the legendary Trou du diable (Devil’s Hole).

D3

462 Tamarac

The perfect happy hour

Before heading back on the road, make a stop downtown to have a good cocktail, a Kombucha made by Quetzal Kombucha or a glass of wine carefully selected by the passionate owner at 462 Tamarac. This “neighborhood refreshment bar” style place also offers light meals inspired by fresh Quebec products and homemade pizzas cooked in a wood oven. Want a touch of sweetness to end your stay on a good note? The 462 also offers a range of artisanal ice creams,handcrafted with great talent by Le Loup et la Corneille.

MIA’S WOWS

Sunsets
Sunsets
Falls
Falls
Wow hiking
Wow hiking
Beers and good food
Beers and good food
You can also see my favorites here

Start by taking the pulse of the downtown area

On the promenade du Saint-Maurice and one of its magnificient terraces.

Have a change a scenery for a day

At La Mauricie National Park passing by St-Jean-des-Piles.

Sit down at a table for the night

In one of Shawinigan’s gastronomic restaurants.

Endlessly nature outing

On a mountain bike or simply admiring Shawinigan falls during spring.

Enjoy a cozy atmosphere with style

With a local kombucha or a privately imported glass of wine on hand.

There you go!

Subscribe to our newsletter to know about Mia’s next favorites and more!

@ Shawinigan Tourism  2024 - All rights reserved   //  Website development: Turbulences // Photo credit

Mia

Toi le ou la passionné(e) de nature et de grands espaces qui aime s’évader en couple et qui a choisi de visiter Shawinigan, je te dis : BON CHOIX ! Permets-moi d’être ton guide et de te faire quelques propositions afin de rendre ton séjour mémorable.

Mon parcours sur mesure

La belle région de la Mauricie et plus précisément, la ville de Shawinigan, se trouve à environ 1h45 de route de Montréal et de Québec. Il est donc facile de partir le vendredi après le boulot et de siroter une bonne bière ou un bon verre de vin pour l’apéro seulement 2 heures plus tard.

Alors le séjour de rêve commence ici…

J1

Souper indien au Taj Mahal

Profitez de la terrasse

Pour bien commencer cette pause en amoureux un beau vendredi en début de soirée, direction plein cœur de Shawinigan. Je vous propose de vous installer confortablement avec une bonne bouteille de vin de votre choix (achetée au préalable à la SAQ) et de relaxer sur la terrasse du Taj Mahal. Le menu de ce resto est typiquement indien et tout à fait adapté aux palais sensibles des Québécois qui offre des plats tout en saveurs, pas trop épicés et accompagnés de succulents condiments en “à côté” pour vous permettre d’assaisonner et de pimenter votre repas à votre guise. Je vous recommande chaudement l’agneau Korma, dans sa sauce crémeuse aux pistaches qui fond en bouche et l’incontournable poulet au beurre.

J1

Promenade du Saint-Maurice

Une ballade en amoureux

Après ce bon repas, si vous éprouvez le besoin de faire descendre le tout, rien de mieux que de prendre une marche de santé, main dans la main, sur la promenade du Saint-Maurice. Elle longe la rivière du même nom et c’est facile d’y accéder car vous vous y trouver déjà. Il vous suffit simplement de traverser la rue pour y admirer le soleil qui descend tranquillement sur l’eau et la Cité de l’énergie qui se dresse droite et fière. Un décor souvent digne d’une carte postale, particulièrement lorsque le coucher de soleil estival colore le ciel de rose et d’orangé!

J1

Microbrasserie le Trou du Diable

Pour bien finir la soirée

Après cette balade, si vous avez le cœur à la fête ou que vous n’avez pas encore sommeil, choisissez une table sur la magnifique terrasse de la renommée Microbrasserie le Trou du Diable joyaux de la Ville. Laissez-vous tenter par l’ambiance festive de l’endroit et découvrez les trésors à boire avec une palette de dégustation (4 sortes de bière au choix) où vous recevrez les conseils avisés de votre serveur. Soyez créatifs et partagez vos coups de cœur avec votre douce moitié en cette belle fin de soirée.

J2

Les chutes Waber

Vive le plein air!

Le lendemain matin, direction les chutes Waber au parc national de la Mauricie pour une excursion d’environ 4 heures mariant canot (ou kayak selon votre préférence), randonnée et superbes paysages. Vous aurez peut-être la chance d’enjamber un barrage de castor pendant l’aventure.

J2

Café bucolique

Déjeuner champêtre

Avant le départ, arrêtez-vous au beau village de Ste-Flore pour un déjeuner campagnard au Café bucolique.

J2

St-Jean-des-Piles

La vue sur la rivière

Pour la route, je recommande de faire le tour du parc national plutôt que de revenir sur vos pas afin de mieux l’explorer. Vous pourrez ainsi vous arrêter aux différents points de vue aménagés dans le parc et d’admirer le village de St-Jean-des-piles que vous traverserez sur la route du retour vers Shawinigan. Vous y aurez un autre point de vue magnifique sur la rivière St-Maurice.

J2

2800 du parc

Pique-nique improvisé

C’est aussi un secteur qui vous propose de casser la croûte à plusieurs endroits sur le bord de l’eau comme le 2800 du Parc et la marina de St-Jean-des-Piles.

J2

Envie de gastronomie?

Idées de restaurants

Si vous avez envie de gastronomie, le restaurant de l’auberge le Goglus vous charmera par sa cuisine élaborée, le restaurant l’Olivia aura de quoi vous plaire. Pour découvrir mon resto coup de cœur, le Zélé, rendez-vous à Ste-Flore.

J3

La shop du Tdd

Visite de brasserie et boutique

Pour conclure cette belle fin de semaine, pourquoi ne pas faire la visite guidée de la brasserie le Trou du Diable en matinée et visiter la boutique de la Shop où l’on vend bières, T-Shirts, chandails, casquettes, affiches et plusieurs autres sympathiques produits de la région.

J3

Vélo de montagne

Avec vue sur les chutes au printemps!

Vous pourrez aussi aller vous dégourdir les jambes dans un des sentiers gratuits de randonnée/vélo de montagne au parc de l’Île Melville, situé à 3 minutes de là. Ce parc offre aussi une paroi rocheuse prisée par les amateurs d’escalade et un parcours Arbraska. Au printemps, un arrêt s’impose au belvédère pour contempler les impressionnantes chutes de Shawinigan (les 2ème plus grosses au Canada après les Chutes Niagara!). Vous y verrez le légendaire Trou du Diable.

J3

462 Tamarac

L'apéro parfait

Avant de reprendre la route, passez par le centre-ville pour savourer un bon cocktail maison, un Kombucha fait par Quetzal Kombucha ou un verre de vin soigneusement sélectionné par la passionnée propriétaire au 462 Tamarac. Cette place style “buvette de quartier” propose aussi des repas légers inspirés de produits frais du Québec et des pizzas maison cuites sur four à bois. Envie d’une touche de sucré pour bien terminer votre séjour? Le 462 propose aussi un éventail de glaces artisanales fabriquées à la main avec grand talent par le Loup et la corneille.

LES WOWS DE MIA

Couchers de soleil
Couchers de soleil
Chutes
Chutes
Rando wow
Rando wow
Bières et bonnes bouffes
Bières et bonnes bouffes
Tu peux aussi voir mes coups de coeur ici.

Commence par prendre le pouls au centre-ville

Sur la promenade du Saint-Maurice et l’une de ses magnifiques terrasses.

Dépayse-toi le temps d'une journée

Au parc national de la Mauricie en passant par St-Jean-des-Piles.

Attable-toi pour passer la soirée

Dans un des restos gastronomiques de Shawi.

Sortie nature à l'infini

En vélo de montage ou encore en simple contemplation des chutes de Shawinigan au printemps.

Profite d'une ambiance cozy avec style

Avec un kombucha local ou un verre de vin d’importation privée à la main.

Et voilà!

Abonne-toi à l’infolettre pour en savoir plus sur les prochains coups de coeur de Mia et du reste de l’équipe!

© Tourisme Shawinigan  2024 - Tous droits réservés   //  Conception site Web : Turbulences // Crédit photos