Céline

You, the foodie who likes to enjoy simple moments as a couple, and chose to come in Shawinigan for a few days: GOOD PICK! Let me be your personal guide and suggest my favorites in order to make your stay memorable.

My personal favorites

For my boyfriend and I, having a little weekend in Shawi in the summer means terraces, beers & food, park, and river! It’s time to take advantage of the good places, have good meals, and also enjoy our National Park and the Saint-Maurice river.

AND THE DREAM STAY STARTS HERE…

Chenapan - Jacinthe C
D1

Le Chenapan

Downtown terrace

Friday night, we’re going to celebrate the end of the week on the Chenapan terrace! This is the perfect location right in the downtown area. Their daily menu of local beers and beverages is varied and if their “Chili Dog” is on the menu, jump on it for a taste. If you’re a tartar lover, you’ve come to the right place as well!

tous les jours dimanche - Sandrine
D2

Tous les jours dimanche

Stock up on food for lunch

Saturday morning, we leave for the La Mauricie National Park and we make a short stop at the bakery Tous les jours dimanche to buy our homemade sandwiches – the asparagus one is to die for (offered in season)! You also have to taste their couscous salad and don’t forget their lemonade.

D2

La Mauricie National Park

Active or relaxed style

At La Mauricie National Park, you’ll find something for everyone. If you’re active, you can rent a boat for a few hours and discover the majestic Wapizagonke Lake … If you’re more of a swimming and relaxation type, this is also the ideal place. Don’t forget to get your feet wet and climb the cascades just across the suspension bridge in the Shewenegan area!

BW Micro - Céline N
D2

BW Microbrewery

A wow terrace!

On the way back, a well-deserved break at the Broadway Microbrewery is mandatory! Their all-wood terrace, which the owners built themselves, is magnificent. In the evening, the beautiful lights, hung in the trees, create an atmosphere that’s both festive and rustic. It’s just beautiful! You have to taste their beers, brewed on site, and if the Katana is on the menu, you must try it. And if you ever want something original, go crazy by tasting their white beer Mojito, it’s so refreshing.

D3

2800 du parc

Carpe diem for a day…

Sunday, after a late morning, we suggest you push on to Saint-Jean-des-Piles to enjoy a big cup of your morning latte at Le 2800 du Parc. It’s the perfect spot to relax, chat and gently wake up to the sound of the river! THE view is sensational and if you’re a little bit hungry, their restaurant will satisfy your stomach. The menu is not long, but sufficiently appetizing by offering local and/or homemade products. If, by any chance, you have your bikes, this is the perfect starting point for a ride in the area. For my part, I’ll wait for my boyfriend – gone on a bike ride – at the water’s edge while relaxing with a good coffee or a local beer, according to my desire of the moment!

D3

Pâtisserie le Palais

A treat to take out

To end the weekend, we’ll stop at the Pâtisserie Le Palais, buy 2 small “mousse squares”, the passion-mango/chocolate one for me and chocolate/salted caramel for my boyfriend! Nothing better to have fun on a summer Sunday evening!

CÉLNE’S WOWS

Terrace
Terrace
River
River
Wow landscapes
Wow landscapes
Beers et food
Beers et food
You can also see my favorites here

Sit down at a terrace

To eat or only for a drink.

Take a deep breath

At La Mauricie National Park, stoping by Saint-Jean-des-Piles.

Stock up on food

For a picnic or to take back home.

Jules fromage et convives personna couple - Céline N

Simply enjoy the moment

During all your stay.

There you go!

Subscribe to our newsletter to know about Céline’s next favorites and more!

@ Shawinigan Tourism  2024 - All rights reserved   //  Website development: Turbulences // Photo credit

TON GUIDE PERSO

Céline

Toi l’épicurien(ne) dans l’âme, qui aime profiter de moments simples en couple, et qui a choisi de visiter Shawinigan, je te dis : BON CHOIX ! Permets-moi d’être ton guide et de te faire quelques propositions afin de rendre ton séjour mémorable.

Mon parcours sur mesure

Pour mon chum et moi, se faire un p’tit week-end à Shawi l’été, ça rime avec terrasses, bières & bouffe, parc et rivière! C’est profiter des bonnes places pour déguster de bons p’tits plats mais aussi de notre parc national et la rivière Saint-Maurice.

ALORS LE SÉJOUR DE RÊVE COMMENCE ICI…

J1

Le Chenapan

Terrasse en centre-ville

Vendredi soir, on va célébrer la fin de la semaine sur la terrasse du Chenapan !  C’est l’endroit parfait en plein centre-ville. Leur menu quotidien de bières et breuvages locaux est varié et si leur « chili Dog » est au menu, sautez dessus pour le goûter. Si vous êtes un amateur de tartare, vous êtes à la bonne place aussi !

J2

Tous les jours dimanche

Des provisions pour la journée

Samedi matin, on quitte pour le parc national et on fait un petit arrêt à la boulangerie Tous les jours Dimanche pour acheter nos sandwichs faits maison – celui aux asperges, si c’est la saison, est à tomber ! Goûtez aussi sa salade de couscous et n’oubliez pas leur limonade.

J2

Parc national de la Mauricie

En mode actif ou relax

Au parc national de la Mauricie, vous en aurez pour tous les goûts. Si vous êtes actifs, vous pourrez louer une embarcation quelques heures et découvrir le majestueux Lac Wapizagonke  …si vous êtes plus du genre repos, baignade et détente, c’est aussi la place idéale, et n’oubliez pas d’aller mouiller vos pieds et escalader les Cascades juste de l’autre côté du pont suspendu dans l’aire Shewenegan!

J2

BW Microbrasserie

Une terrasse juste wow!

Au retour, une pause méritée à la Broadway Microbrasserie est obligatoire! Leur terrasse toute en bois, que les propriétaires ont construit eux-mêmes est magnifique. En soirée, les belles lumières accrochées dans les arbres donnent une ambiance à la fois festive et champêtre, c’est super beau ! Goûtez à leurs bières brassées sur place, si la Katana est au menu, il faut l’essayer. Et si jamais vous avez envie d’originalité, soyez fou en dégustant leur Mojito à la bière blanche, tellement rafraîchissant.

J3

2800 du parc

Une journée complète à profiter…

Dimanche, après une petite grasse matinée, on vous suggère de pousser jusqu’à Saint-Jean-des-Piles déguster votre bon gros café latte du matin au 2800 du Parc. C’est la place parfaite pour relaxer, jaser et se réveiller doucement au son de la rivière! LA vue est sensationnelle et si vous avez un petit creux, le resto du 2800 saura le combler. La carte n’est pas longue, mais suffisamment appétissante en proposant des produits locaux et/ou faits maison pour satisfaire votre appétit. Si jamais vos vélos sont dans votre auto, c’est le point de départ parfait pour une balade dans le coin. Pour ma part, j’attendrai mon chum – parti à vélo – au bord de l’eau en relaxant avec un bon café ou une bière locale, selon mon envie du moment!

J3

Pâtisserie le Palais

Une gâterie pour apporter

Et pour terminer le week-end, on s’arrêtera à la Pâtisserie Le Palais, acheter 2 petits « carrés mousse », celui passion-mangue/chocolat pour moi et chocolat/caramel salé pour mon chum ! Rien de mieux pour se faire plaisir un dimanche soir estival!

LES WOWS DE CÉLINE

Terrasse
Terrasse
Rivière
Rivière
Paysages wow
Paysages wow
Bières et bouffes
Bières et bouffes
Tu peux aussi voir mes coups de coeur ici.

Installe-toi en terrasse

Que ce soit pour un verre ou pour manger.

Respire un grand coup

Au parc national de la Mauricie en passant par St-Jean-des-Piles.

Fais le plein de provisions

Pour le pique-nique ou pour apporter à la maison.

Profite simplement du moment

Tout le long du séjour.

Et voilà!

Abonne-toi à l’infolettre pour en savoir plus sur les prochains coups de coeur de Céline et du reste de l’équipe!

© Tourisme Shawinigan  2022 - Tous droits réservés   //  Conception site Web : Turbulences // Crédit photos