Valérie

I LOVE… unexpected encounters, thinking outside the box, mobilizing people around an idea, hearing my colleagues laugh, the scent of lime trees in May and the sound of the word achawenekane.

Zélé Restaurant

My experience is always WOW when I take a seat at their lovely table, which has chosen the coeur villageois de Sainte-Flore to exist. I like that the blackboard menu follows the rhythm of the seasons and promotes small producers who are presented at the same time as the dishes. I love its vintage and eclectic decor which adds to the neat but relaxed atmosphere of the place. And the playlist fits well with the uniqueness of its owners! I discovered Clay & Friends there, which is now part of my playlist!

Know more

Parc de la rivière Shawinigan

I love it ! Even if it is tiny, it offers a super cozy nature experience only 5 minutes away from downtown. From May to October (very colorful in the fall), I go there on sunny days for a meditation break, a refreshing swim or lunch with the fly fishermen. I find myself a rock to sit on and listen to the water clearing paths singing waterfalls.

Know more

Nature Nature

I’m clearly not the camping type, but I like accessible nature, comfort and wooden architecture that has style and simplicity to lay down with a book and a good latte, settled in a hammock with a green view. Exactly what their small cabins with large bay windows offer me, on the mountainside, at the edge of the forests of La Mauricie National Park. So perfect for me!

Know more

462 Tamarac

Clearly one of my favorite urban foodie spots in Shawi. 100% eclectic, with a good-natured atmosphere, like its artist-owner, firmly anchored in organic and ecological values. At the 462, cooking is an art more than a tradition, since for Ysa, the good in the mouth is always beautiful for the eyes and soft for the nose, with musical notes that bring you back to the vinyl years. I totally love it.

Know more
P

Le Parc de l’Île Melville

Well yes, another park 😊 but this one is still different: it’s “my island _in Shawi”. Yes yes, a real real island! And it’s extraordinary for the girl that I am who grew up in the French islands. Among all the activities accessible there, my favorite is undoubtedly the themed paddle outings : day and night (imagine during the Perseids), in paddle yoga, initiation mode or even with an aperitif!

Know more

La Factrie

A superb workshop-exhibition which leaves its doors open to the visual arts lovers, to immerse themselves, to share, to create or even to question themselves. I love this space bathed in natural light, which has preserved the atmosphere and industrial design of the “Shirt Shop”, a former factory from 1925. I like that these current places remain witnesses of the rich industrial past of Shawi. I also discovered the feminine drawings and the colorful painting of Devon Griffiths which is also one of my favorites.

Know more

You like these ideas ?

Subscribe to our newsletter to know about Valerie’s next favorites and more!

@ Shawinigan Tourism  2024 - All rights reserved   //  Website development: Turbulences // Photo credit

Valérie

J’AIME… les rencontres inattendues, sortir des sentiers battus, mobiliser les gens autour d’une idée, entendre rire mes collègues, le parfum des tilleuls en mai et la sonorité de achawenekane.

Restaurant Zélé

Mon expérience est toujours WOW quand je me dépose à leur jolie table, qui a choisi un cœur villageois pour exister. J’aime le menu à l’ardoise qui suit le rythme des saisons et valorise des petits producteurs qui nous sont présentés en même temps que les plats. J’adore sa déco vintage et éclectique qui ajoute à l’ambiance soignée mais décontractée du lieu. Et la playlist plutôt indie témoignent bien de la singularité de ses propriétaires! J’y ai d’ailleurs découvert Clay & Friends qui fait maintenant partie de ma playlist !

Découvrir

Parc de la rivière Shawinigan

Je l’adore ! Même s’il est minuscule, il m’offre une expérience nature super enveloppante à cinq minutes du centre-ville. De mai à octobre (très colorée l’automne), j’y vais les jours de soleil pour une pause méditation, une baignade rafraîchissante ou un lunch en compagnie des pêcheurs à la mouche. Je m’y trouve un rocher pour m’assoir et j’écoute l’eau de la rivière se frayer des chemins qui chantent en cascades.

Découvrir

Nature Nature

Je ne suis clairement pas du genre camping, mais j’aime la nature accessible, le confort et l’architecture bois qui a du style dans la simplicité. Pour me poser avec un livre et un bon café au lait, installée dans un hamac avec une vue verte. Exactement ce que m’offrent leurs petites cabines à grande baie vitrée, posées à flanc de montagne, à l’orée des forêts du parc national. Tellement parfait pour moi !

Découvrir

Le 462 Tamarac

Clairement un de mes spots gourmands urbains préférés de Shawi. 100% éclectique, avec une atmosphère bon enfant, à l’image de son artiste-propriétaire, ancrée solide dans des valeurs bio et écolo, où cuisiner est un art plus qu’une tradition, puisque pour Isa, le bon dans la bouche est toujours beau pour les yeux et doux pour le nez, avec des notes musicales qui datent des années vyniles. J’aime entièrement.

Découvrir

Le Parc de l’Île Melville

Ben oui, un autre parc 😊 Mais celui-là est encore différent : c’est « mon île _à Shawi ». Oui oui, une vraie de vraie île ! Et c’est extraordinaire pour la fille que je suis qui a grandi dans les îles françaises. Et parmi toutes les activités qui y sont possibles, ma préférée est assurément celle des sorties thématiques en paddle, de jour comme nuit (imaginez pendant les perséïdes), en mode paddle yoga ou initiation ou même apéro !

Découvrir

La Factrie

Un superbe atelier-expo qui laisse ses portes ouvertes aux publics sensibles aux arts visuels, pour s’immerger, partager, créer, se questionner. J’adore cet espace baigné de lumière naturelle, qui a préservé l’ambiance et le design industriel de la « Shop à chemises », une ancienne manufacture des année 1925. J’aime que ces lieux actuels restent les témoins du riche passé industriel de Shawi. J’y ai aussi découvert les dessins féminins et la peinture colorée de Devon Griffiths qui fait aussi partie de mes coups de cœur.

Découvrir

Vous aimez ces suggestions ?

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre pour en savoir plus sur les prochains coups de coeur de Valérie et du reste de l’équipe!

© Tourisme Shawinigan  2024 - Tous droits réservés   //  Conception site Web : Turbulences // Crédit photos