Stéphanie

You, the outdoor lover who likes to enjoy nature by yourself, and chose to come in Shawinigan for a few days: GOOD PICK! Let me be your personal guide and suggest my favorites in order to make your stay memorable.

My personal favorites

Are you planning to come and discover Shawi solo? It’s always a pleasure to share my local favorites! If you meet me, don’t hesitate to come and talk to me.

AND THE DREAM STAY STARTS HERE…

D1

Zélé

A daring dinner

Start your stay by going to Restaurant Zélé located in the coeur villageois de Sainte-Flore. This is where all my senses are conquered. Every. Single. Time! Le Zélé is a bistro cuisine with a regional flavor offered by a bold Chef and his team. We go there for the impressive selection of gin, the cod fish, the black garlic fries and the striploin, as well as their really GREAT staff!

D1

Parc de l'Île Melville

Camping for all tastes!

Then I suggest you spend the night in my getaway spot in the heart of the city, the parc de l’Île Melville! In camping mode, ready-to-camp or even in a chalet on a site bordered by the Saint-Maurice river, there’s nothing more you could ask for! Want to spoil yourself? You can also live a top-of-the-line experience of nautical accommodation and spend the night in a floating studio.

ri
D2

Saint-Maurice River

In downtown area!

The next day, go behind Meubles Jacob, in the heart of downtown, you’ll have an easy access to water where you’ll be able to put your paddleboard in the water. This friendly site offers grassy areas perfect for inflating your board and a large parking lot facing the river to get ready. Psst! This is where you can enjoy the most beautiful rainbows in town!

tous les jours dimanche - Vincent H
D2

Tous les jours dimanche

Hard to choose!

You then have to stop by the bakery Tous les jours dimanche! You absolutely have to try: the soup (any of them), their famous tarte au ciel (sky pie), the savory ham and goat cheese muffins, the mushroom spread and the rustic loaf – in the order of your choice! Julie and her team, in addition to being good at cooking, are super friendly!

D2

Mont des jeunes

Happy hour at sunset.

Let’s go to the Mont des Jeunes to enjoy your feast! This well-kept place overlooks the majestic Saint-Maurice river. This is where I like to drop off, have an aperitif and a snack after a day of paddleboard in the Baie de Shawi. The view is just spectacular, and the sunsets are surreal. Bring a blanket to settle in. NB: The site is not developed or equipped. There’s no amenities or services.

D2

Downtonw boutiques

Sports and craft products

As soon as you’re done enjoying your coffee by the water, under the rays of the morning sun, it’s time for some shopping at Le Yéti, a shop in the downtown area, specialized in running, cycling and skiing. An essential destination for sporty and adventurous spirits, this is THE spot to go! The team is friendly, passionate and dedicated. We go there for a quick puncture repair, to find new hiking shoes or to fall in love with a Patagonia sweater jacket! If you want to discover other nice shops, stop by Uni-Vert des Artisans and Écogriffe. A must !

D2

Arbraska

Climb in trees!

Back at the parc de l’Île Melville, you’ll be spoiled by the numerous choices of activities. Explore kilometers of biking and hiking trails, test your abilities on one of the Arbraska trails or even rent a watercraft to explore the surroundings!

D2

462 Tamarac

The perfect atmosphere

Peckish? 462 Tamarac is waiting for you! A chillax atmosphere, an eclectic decor, a selection of natural wines, charcuterie, pizzas cooked in a wood oven, microbrewery beers, drinks concocted with love, and a huge terrace in the street. All this, proposed by a passionate, epicurean, traveler who knew how to transpose all her passion in the 462 Tamarac.
Who knows, maybe you’ll have the chance to enjoy one of their theme parties that’ll take you in a parallel universe!?

STÉPHANIE’S WOWS

Sunsets
Sunsets
Paddle board
Paddle board
Beers and good food
Beers and good food
Wow hiking
Wow hiking
You can also see my favorites here

Have dinner in a warm atmosphere

With a local flavors menu.

Put your paddle board in the water

Even in downtown area.

Have a picnic

With an amazing view on the river.

Enjoy a place that doesn't exist anywhere else

At 462 Tamarac, in a cozy atmosphere.

There you go!

Subscribe to our newsletter to know about Stéphanie’s next favorites and more!

@ Shawinigan Tourism  2024 - All rights reserved   //  Website development: Turbulences // Photo credit

TON GUIDE PERSO

Stéphanie

Toi le ou la solitaire passionné(e) de nature et de grands espaces qui a choisi de passer un court séjour à Shawinigan, je te dis : BON CHOIX!

MON PARCOURS SUR MESURE

Tu prévois venir découvrir Shawi en solo? C’est toujours un plaisir de partager mes coups de cœur locaux! Si tu me croises, n’hésite pas à venir me voir.

ALORS LE SÉJOUR DE RÊVE COMMENCE ICI…

J1

Zélé

Un souper audacieux.

Débute ton séjour en grand en te rendant au Restaurant Zélé situé dans le cœur villageois de Sainte-Flore. C’est ici que tous mes sens sont conquis. À. Chaque. Fois ! Le Zélé c’est une cuisine bistro à saveur régionale proposée par un Chef et une brigade d’audacieux. On y va pour l’impressionnante sélection de gin, le Fish de morue, les frites à l’ail noir et le contre-filet ainsi que pour l’équipe de feu.

J1

Parc de l'île Melville

Du camping pout tous les goûts!

Je te suggère ensuite de passer la nuit dans mon espace d’évasion en plein centre-ville, le parc de l’île Melville ! En mode camping, en prêt-à-camper ou encore en chalet sur un terrain bordé par la rivière St-Maurice, quoi demander de mieux. Envie de te gâter ? Tu peux aussi y vivre une expérience haut de gamme d’hébergement nautique et passer la nuit dans une maison flottante.

J2

Rivière Saint-Maurice

En plein centre-ville!

Le lendemain, rends-toi derrière chez Meubles Jacob, en plein cœur du centre-ville, tu y découvriras un accès facile à la rivière Saint-Maurice pour mettre ton Paddleboard à l’eau. Ce site convivial propose des espaces gazonnés parfaits pour gonfler ta planche et un grand stationnement face à la rivière pour te préparer. Pssst! C’est à cet endroit que se forment les plus beaux arc-en-ciel en Ville.

J2

Tous les jours dimanche

Difficile de choisir!

Un arrêt s’impose ensuite à la Boulangerie Tous les jours dimanche! Tu dois absolument essayer, dans l’ordre ou le désordre, la soupe (peu importe laquelle), la tarte au ciel, les muffins salés jambon et chèvre, la tartinade de champignons et la miche rustique! Julie et son équipe, en plus d’être douées en cuisine sont ultra sympathiques!

J2

Mont des jeunes

L'apéro au coucher de soleil.

Direction Mont des Jeunes pour savourer ton festin ! Cet endroit bien gardé surplombe la majestueuse rivière St-Maurice. C’est là où j’aime me déposer, prendre l’apéro et casser la croûte après une journée de Paddleboard dans la Baie de Shawi. La vue est juste spectaculaire et les couchers de soleil sont surréels. Apporte une doudou pour t’installer, le site n’est pas aménagé.

J2

Boutiques du centre-ville

Sports et artisans

Aussitôt ton café dégusté au bord de l’eau, sous les rayons du soleil du matin, c’est parti pour quelques courses au Yéti, une boutique spécialisée en course à pied, vélo et ski au centre-ville. Destination incontournable pour les esprits sportifs et aventuriers, c’est LA place où aller ! L’équipe est sympathique, passionnée et dévouée. On y va pour faire réparer rapidement une crevaison, dénicher de nouvelles chaussures de randonnées ou tomber en amour avec une doudoune Patagonia! Si tu as envie de découvrir d’autres boutiques sympathiques, arrête-toi à l’Uni-vert des artisans et chez Écogriffe. Un must !

J2

Arbraska

Grimpe aux arbres!

De retour au Parc de l’Ile Melville, tu as l’embarras du choix pour occuper ton temps libre. Parcours des kilomètres de sentiers de vélo et de rando, teste tes capacités dans l’un de parcours Arbraska ou encore loue-toi une embarcation nautique pour explorer les environs !

J2

462 Tamarac

La parfaite ambiance

Un petit creux ? 462 Tamarac n’attend que toi ! Une ambiance chillax, un décor éclectique, une sélection de vin nature, des charcuteries, des pizzas cuites au four à bois, des bières de microbrasseries, des drinks concoctés avec amour, une immense terrasse dans la rue. Tout ça, proposé par une passionnée, épicurienne, voyageuse qui a su transposer toute son expérience à travers le 462 Tamarac. Qui sait, tu pourrais peut-être débarquer dans une de ces soirées thématiques qui t’emmènera ailleurs!?

LES WOWS DE STÉPHANIE

Couchers de soleil
Couchers de soleil
Paddle board
Paddle board
Bières et bonnes bouffes
Bières et bonnes bouffes
Rando wow
Rando wow
Tu peux aussi voir mes coups de coeur ici.

Soupe dans un décor chaleureux

Avec un menu à saveurs locales.

Mets ton paddle board à l'eau

Même en plein centre-ville.

Offre-toi un pique-nique

Avec une vue sur la rivière juste wow.

Profite d'un lieu qui n'existe pas ailleurs

Au 462 Tamarac, dans une ambiance cozy.

Et voilà!

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre pour en savoir plus sur les prochains coups de coeur de Stéphanie et du reste de l’équipe!

© Tourisme Shawinigan  2022 - Tous droits réservés   //  Conception site Web : Turbulences // Crédit photos