Jacinthe

You, the culture lover who likes to get some action with your family, and chose to come in Shawinigan for a few days: GOOD PICK! Let me be your personal guide and suggest my favorites in order to make your stay memorable.

My personal favorites

Your can also see Angelina’s favorites and Léonidas’ favorites.

Ahhhh summer! The season to take the time to discover the magnificent and opulent Shawi by walk, by bike or on the water! It’s my favorite time with the family because it’s the time of the year when we allow ourselves to be carried away by our desires and our occasional needs, encouraged by the weather or an unexpected invitation!

AND THE DREAM STAY STARTS HERE…

Tr
D1 – D2

Shows and Tribal Fest

Large-scale events!

Children are particularly crazy about this season in town, because it often rhymes with all kinds of special permissions…
Bedtime is no longer important, thanks to the shows of the Grandes soirées du Vendredi at Un Été signé Shawi at the place du Marché, or because we decided to hold on to the Festival Tribal Fest. These two events give us amazing moments!

D2

Interzone

To see once or 32 times!

The routine of returning home has also been changed when we decide to visit for the thirty-second time (we will never get tired of it!) the open-air exhibition Interzone in the alley between the 4th and the 5th rue de la Pointe. This art gallery takes us to travel and rediscover this incongruous but inspiring place that invites quiet conversations and spontaneous exchanges between neighbours… in a back alley!

D2

Escales fantastiques

Another world!

Speaking of alleys and streets, we remain on the lookout for the performances of the Escales fantastiques that invade our spaces to take us into a world that’s sometimes fantastic, sometimes mythical, but always extravagant. During a performance of theatre, music, acrobatics, clowns or puppets, we forget where we are, transported into the surreal universe of these street entertainers!

D2

Bakeries and pastries

Downtown picnic

When the sun is out and the heat hangs on, we stay away from our kitchen… We then go to get a picnic at Tous les jours Dimanche and a dessert from the Pâtisserie le Palais to eat in the shade of the magnificent century-old trees of the majestic parc Saint-Maurice bordered by the river which brings us its refreshing breeze.

D3

Onikam cultural space

Atikamekw culture

We extend the happiness of being inspired by our Mother Earth by going to the exhibition at the Onikam cultural space, a place of Atikamekw and Aboriginal cultural dissemination.

D3

Downtown and Promenade

Walk and ice cream

Summer also means daily walks on the promenade du Saint-Maurice where we stop a few times to read about the history of the river on the historical interpretation panels, and where we stop very often (special permissions required) at the dairy shop Janoch for a frozen treat.

Cité de l'énergie - trolley bus Jacinthe
D3

Cité de l'énergie

A must-see!

Don’t forget to do one (or more!) activity offered by the Cité de l’énergie in order to fully understand Shawinigan’s DNA and what constitutes our history, our wealth and our culture! On the water or by bus, with or without a guide, their exhibitions delight both tourists and Shawinigan residents. And when the sun quietly withdraws behind the trees at the end of the river, we climb to the highest peak of Shawinigan, in the tower, to enjoy the show!

JACINTHE’S WOWS

Outdoor events and shows
Outdoor events and shows
Street art
Street art
Must-see museums
Must-see museums
Picnic
Picnic
You can also see my favorites here

Relax on the promenade du Saint-Maurice

No matter what time of the day it is, with something to eat or not.

Enjoy the cultural animation

On the place du Marché at night, or in the streets through the Escales fantastiques.

Let yourself be impressed

All weekend long at Tribal Fest.

Take your time and walk around the downtown area

In the different indoor and outdoor exhibitions.

Learn more and have a wow

During a city guided tour or at the top of the tower of la Cité de l’énergie.

There you go!

Subscribe to our newsletter to know about Jacinthe’s next favorites and more!

@ Shawinigan Tourism  2024 - All rights reserved   //  Website development: Turbulences // Photo credit

TON GUIDE PERSO

Jacinthe

Toi l’amoureux(se) de la culture, qui aime s’animer en famille, et qui a choisi de visiter Shawinigan, je te dis : BON CHOIX ! Permets-moi d’être ton guide et de te faire quelques propositions afin de rendre ton séjour mémorable.

Mon parcours sur mesure

Tu peux aussi voir les coups de coeur d’Angelina ici et de Léonidas ici.

Ahhhh l’été! La saison pour prendre le temps de découvrir à pied, à vélo ou sur l’eau la magnifique et opulente Shawi! C’est le moment que je préfère en famille parce qu’à défaut d’être toujours à la course et réglé par un horaire rempli, c’est le temps de l’année où on se laisse porter par nos envies et nos besoins ponctuels encouragés par la météo ou une invitation inattendue!

ALORS LE SÉJOUR DE RÊVE COMMENCE ICI…

J1 – J2

Spectacles et Tribal Fest

Des événements à grand déploiement!

Les enfants raffolent particulièrement de cette saison en ville, car elle rime souvent avec toutes sortes de permissions spéciales… L’heure du coucher n’a plus d’importance grâce aux spectacles des Grandes soirées du vendredi d’Un été signé Shawinigan à la Place du Marché ou parce qu’on a décidé de s’accrocher les pieds au Festival Tribal Fest qui tous deux nous en donnent plein la vue et les oreilles!

J2

Interzone

À voir 1 ou 32 fois!

La routine du retour à la maison se voit aussi changer quand on décide d’aller visiter pour la trente-deuxième fois (on ne s’en lassera jamais!) l’exposition à ciel ouvert Interzone dans la ruelle entre la 4e et la 5e rue de la Pointe. Cette galerie en arts visuels nous fait voyager et redécouvrir ce lieu incongru mais oh! combien inspirant qui invite aux conversations feutrées et aux échanges spontanés entre voisins… de ruelle!

J2

Les Escales fantastiques

Un autre monde

Parlant de ruelles et de rues, on reste à l’affût des prestations des Escales fantastiques qui envahissent nos espaces pour nous emmener dans un univers tantôt fantastique, tantôt mythique, mais toujours extravagant. Le temps d’une performance de théâtre, de musique, d’acrobaties, de clown ou de marionnettes, on oublie où on est, transporté dans l’univers surréaliste de ces amuseurs de rues!

J2

Les boulangeries-pâtisseries

Pique-nique au centre-ville

Lorsque le soleil est au rendez-vous et que la chaleur s’accroche, on boude notre cuisine pour aller se chercher un pique-nique chez Tous les jours dimanche accompagné d’un dessert de la pâtisserie du Palais pour aller manger à l’ombre des magnifiques arbres centenaires du majestueux parc St-Maurice bordé par la rivière qui nous apporte sa brise rafraichissante.

J3

Espace culturel Onikam

La culture atikamekw

On prolonge le bonheur d’être inspiré par notre Terre-mère en se rendant à l’exposition de l’espace culturel Onikam, lieu de diffusion culturelle atikamekw et autochtone.

J3

Le centre-ville et la Promenade

Marche et crème glacée

L’été, c’est aussi les marches quotidiennes sur la promenade du St-Maurice où on s’arrête quelques fois pour lire des pans de l’histoire de la rivière sur les panneaux d’interprétation historique et où on s’arrête beaucoup trop souvent (permissions spéciales obligent!) à la crèmerie chez Janoche pour une gâterie glacée.

J3

Cité de l'énergie

Un incontournable!

On n’oublie surtout pas de faire une (ou plusieurs!) activité proposée par la Cité de l’énergie afin de bien comprendre l’ADN shawiniganaise et ce qui constitue notre histoire, notre richesse et notre culture! Sur l’eau ou en autobus, avec un guide ou non, leurs expositions ravissent autant les touristes que les shawiniganais.  Et lorsque le soleil se retire tranquillement derrière les arbres au bout de la rivière, on monte au plus haut sommet de Shawinigan, dans la tour, pour s’émerveiller devant ce spectacle!

LES WOWS DE JACINTHE

Événement et spectacles en plein air
Événement et spectacles en plein air
Art urbain
Art urbain
Musées incontournables
Musées incontournables
Pique-nique
Pique-nique
Tu peux aussi voir mes coups de coeur ici.

Relaxe sur la Promenade du Saint-Maurice

Peu importe le moment de la journée, et avec de quoi manger ou non.

Apprécie l'animation culturelle

Sur la place du marché en soirée ou dans les rues avec les Escales fantastiques.

Fais-toi en mettre plein la vue

Pendant tout le weekend au Tribal Fest.

Prends ton temps et déambule

Dans les différentes expositions extérieures et intérieures.

Apprends-en plus et fais wow

Dans les tours de ville ou au sommet de la tour de la Cité et l’énergie.

Et voilà!

Abonne-toi à l’infolettre pour en savoir plus sur les prochains coups de coeur de Jacinthe et du reste de l’équipe!

© Tourisme Shawinigan  2022 - Tous droits réservés   //  Conception site Web : Turbulences // Crédit photos